Juliet Nicolson

Juliet Nicolson is the author of two works of history, The

Great Silence 1918–1920, Living in the Shadow of the

Great War and The Perfect Summer: Dancing into

Shadow in 1911, and a novel, Abdication. As the grand-

daughter of Vita Sackville-West and Harold Nicolson and

the daughter of Nigel Nicolson she is part of a renowned

and much scrutinised family and the latest in the family

line of record-keepers of the past. She lives in East

Sussex, not far from Sissinghurst, where she spent her

childhood. She has two daughters, Clemmie and Flora, and one grand-

daughter, Imogen.